FMP Research Part 2 (2017)

Legal and Ethical Issues

https://www.slideshare.net/BenRay95/legal-issues-in-the-media-industry-13458722

https://gazcruise92.wordpress.com/2013/02/07/legal-and-ethical-issues-in-the-tv-film-industry/

https://www.spielcreative.com/blog/legal-issues-that-arise-in-animation/

http://www.cybercollege.com/frtv/frtv037.htm

Concepts, Ideas and Topics

My Final Idea

I am making a 3 minute length- animation, music video where it focuses on a person (ideally a girl) gazing through a telescope. Whatever you see through this telescope animates- but only through the telescope at that moment until she breaks the lense in the telescope while putting it away. A few things happen before- which introduces animation in some way- before she goes to bed- a rolled up piece of paper hits her and she opens it to see it animate.

Young Girl looks through a telescope- she sees a world of animation!

345234T

 

Test Shots & Rough Edits

Animation Test Shot 1

Animation Test Shot 2

Technical Requirements

dtwertg

As far as it go for Technical Requirements- I will have to book out a media pack or I can use my own camera- I don’t need to worry about microphones- because I won’t be recording sound. I might need some sort of lighting equipment- if it isn’t light enough outside- as I am filming late into the day. When it comes to animation, I think I will be using Flash CC- so I will have to get this program for myself to use at home- but there is this program at college, if I need to use it. My music might get copyrighted- so I will have to be aware of that- so basically, get permission for it.

Costs, Budget & Production Issues

Costs

Here are my costs:

4t6346.png

erkelrker.png

erjwekrjw3.png

https://www.quora.com/How-much-does-it-cost-for-an-animated-video-e-g-common-craft-for-instructions-on-how-to-use-a-website

ertwet.png

www.austincc.edu/sfarr/animation-costs.html

aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.png

Budget

https://www.spielcreative.com/videos/animated-music-videos.html

wrqwrq3.png

Production Issues

The production issues will most likely be: The actual animating itself- like if the program doesn’t work, if it loses my work or the program doesn’t animate altogether. With the factor- also that I may not finish it in time. I am also filming- so the camera itself may be an issue- such as: It doesn’t work/doesn’t record, loses footage, SD card doesn’t work etc… sound isn’t a production issue in my case- cause I won’t be recording sound. Lighting may be an issue- as I will be filming late into the day- so I will be more aware of that, as in the past from filming in the dark- they haven’t necessarily turned out well. Also a key thing- that I mainly have issues with, is Music- so I end up picking music that is copyrighted- so just being more aware of that- and actually getting the permission to use the song.

BOO.png

Evaluate and Interpret the Research

How Useful and Valid, was the Research?

Researching was very useful because it allowed me to be able to develop my ideas- as well as it helped me to create a bigger picture of the target audience that I wanted to aim my animation, music video at. It also allowed me to be able to know my competition- what I was up against- the similarities, the successes and why they were big competition in the first place. It allowed me to think about applying this issue into the real world so costings, budget, legal and ethical issues and production issues- just to get you thinking more about the production overall. Not all the research was valid- I know costings and budget are a good thing to know when it comes to producing content in the real world- but it wasn’t a huge necessity to research that. As we aren’t really going by a set budget or thinking outside the box about how much money we give to actors, spend on equipment, possibly setting/scenery… etc…

Which were your best sources?

The best sources were partly from doing my own research- so looking into different animation types and styles- allowed me to be sure of what different animation types were out there as well as what animation types I could use within my own animation music video. Competition was another best source to look at: because I was able to a observe an experts animators style, how they made it successful, the methods they used and how they portrayed the animation within their music video. One more source that I think was the best was looking at the Target Audience- because I was able to gain an understanding of what certain animation, music videos appeal too and how I could apply that knowledge to my own animation, music video.

What research could you have done with a bigger budget/more time?

In the real world, if I had a bigger budget then I could have hired more actors, used more locations, used more filming equipment and I could have bought more equipment for animating. When it comes to more time- I would have been able to research more: into much more depth, into the different animation styles and possibly write a blog post on each one- explaining into much more of what they are and how I could pursue to do this. I could have used more of my time to experiment much more on animating in Flash CC and exploring the different styles and techniques that the program offers me. With lastly I could have taken more time to work with my actor and research more into the different types of shots and camera angles.

How my research has re-shaped my ideas

Original Idea

mind map 1

etlkwetlkw.png

Different Animation Styles- https://bridgmansblog.wordpress.com/2017/03/13/inspirations-for-my-fmp/?frame-nonce=a18c3f0a9f

Inspiration for my FMP- through conducting research- https://bridgmansblog.wordpress.com/2017/03/13/inspirations-for-my-fmp/?frame-nonce=a18c3f0a9f

Competition-https://bridgmansblog.wordpress.com/2017/03/11/competition/?frame-nonce=a18c3f0a9f

Final Idea

mind map 2

jsfsjfj.png

Leave a comment